Rowing SA Awards

Rowing SA Awards

Rowing SA recognises the service provided by athletes, coaches, volunteers, and officials. There are several awards in place to honour outstanding members of the rowing community.

The Coach of the Year Award
This award is determined by Rowing SA in conjunction with the South Australian Sports Institute to recognise the coach who has excelled in their field. Taken into account are all the school, club, and state team coaches.

The Bob Pennington Award
This award was introduced in 2017 to recognise the Boat Race Official of the Year. It is exclusively awarded by Rowing SA to acknowledge the outstanding efforts of our officials, and to honour them.

Division Premierships are also awarded with the accumulation of points by each club determined in the by-laws.

Perpetual trophies are awarded to the Premiership Open Men’s and Women’s club contingent are:
West End Trophy (Men’s)
Florence Eaton Trophy (Women’s)

A record of previous recipients of these awards can be found below.

If our documentation is incomplete or incorrect, please notify

Community Club Person of the Year
This award was introduced in 2017 to recognise outstanding community service by a single person within the Rowing SA community. This award is nomination based and the most worthy recipient is determined by the staff at Rowing SA.

Volunteer of the Year
There is a long-standing tradition to acknowledge the unpaid volunteers who work tirelessly to ensure all Rowing SA events run smoothly. This award acknowledges the person or persons deemed to have gone beyond what is required of them.

Other Club premiership awards are:

Country Men’s Premiership
Country Women’s Premiership
Schoolboy Premiership
Schoolgirl Premiership
Masters Men’s Premiership
Masters Women’s Premiership

Our awards breakfast is usually held in June each year.

Individual awards awarded by Rowing SA include:

Champion of Champions Male
Champion of Champions Female
Champion Senior Male
Champion Senior Female
Champion Male Cox
Champion Female Cox
Champion Junior Male
Champion Junior Female
Champion Male Para Rower
Champion Female Para Rower
Champion Masters Male
Champion Masters Female
Champion Senior Schoolboy
Champion Senior Schoolgirl
Champion Schoolboy Crew
Champion Schoolgirl Crew