

2018 Rowing SA (RSA) Annual General Meeting – Minutes

Held at Rowing SA on Monday 27th August 2018 – 100 Military Road, West Lakes Shore (6.30pm)

Present:

RSA Board Directors & Staff

- Philip Paterson (Chair), Jamie Grant, James Hammond, Andrew Hannon, Georgina McGuinness, Greg Melbourne, Richard O'Dea, Steve Pennington, Helene Wipf-Grant
- David Hutton (CEO), Bec Lannan (Regatta Manager), Sam Jordan (SDO), Brett Ralph (Regatta Course Mgr)

• RSA Honorary/Foundation/Financial Life Members & President/Vice-Presidents

 Steve Pennington (Vice-Pres), Phil Mangelsdorf (HLM), Tim Ward (HLM), Lou Crotti (FLM), Barny Cundell (FLM), Greg Melbourne (FLM), Stuart Harrison (FLM), Phil Gebhardt (FLM)

RSA Affiliated Club/School Delegates

Adelaide RC (Chris Greening), Christian Brothers College (Dan Ralph), Goolwa RC (Di Tebneff), Mannum RC (Phil Gebhardt), Murray Bridge RC (Chris McRae), Pembroke School (Daren Potts), Phoenix RC (Tina Lowe), Pt Pirie RC (Bill Othams), Prince Alfred College (James Hammond), Pulteney Grammar School (Richard Sexton), Scotch College (Jarrad Schar), Tailem Bend RC (Juliette Wilkinson), Torrens RC (Amy Park), Unley HS (Josh Whitwell)

• 2017/18 RSA Competitive Rower Members (over the age of 18yo)

 Denise Abood (Torrens RC), Teresa Baxter (Torrens RC), Phil Gebhardt (Mannum RC), Lorna Gibbs (Torrens RC), Kane Grant (Adelaide RC), Andrew Hannon (Adelaide RC), Stuart Harrison (Tailem Bend RC), Isobel Harry (Goolwa RC), Sam Jordan (Adelaide RC), Tina Lowe (Phoenix RC), Jo Malcolm (Phoenix RC), Jessica McRae (Adelaide Uni BC), Ion Menadue (Adelaide RC), Toni Milne (Phoenix RC), Caroline Mussared (Phoenix RC), Mark Mussared (Phoenix RC), Amy Park (Torrens RC), Steve Pennington (Phoenix RC), Michael Sweeney (Riverside RC), Di Tebneff (Goolwa RC)

Other Attendees

Brett Ralph (Course Manager & BRO), Tom Doornbos (Rowing Coach),
 Christine Cundell (RSA Volunteer)

Apologies:

 Graham Caldwell, Philip Marshall, Penny & John Halliday, Christine MacLaren, Trevor Hirth, Michael Eastaughffe, Rod Elleway, Steff Wilden, Ted James, Bob Russell, Paul Logan.

Welcome:

The President, Philip Paterson welcomed those present to the 2018 AGM of Rowing SA. It was confirmed that a quorum was present.

He invited the CEO, David Hutton to give a brief summary of the year's activities of the Association, highlighting key points from the Annual Report and National representatives.

MINUTES:

Declarations of conflict of interest: There were none declared.

Valediction: Two members passed away during the year, Gerald Chadwick from Mannum Rowing Club who rowed in the inaugural Penrith Cup, and Remo Morelli from Torrens Rowing Club.

Voting: The Chairman outlined the voting processes and announced that the scrutineers for the election of members to the Board were James Hammond and Mark Mussared.

Adoption of the 2017 AGM minutes: No questions were put re the minutes.

- Motion of adoption was put **Moved** B Cundell, **Seconded** T Lowe, **Carried**.
- Noted by L Crotti that an 'asterisk' was needed for RW McKenzie on the honour board.

Adoption of the 2017-2018 Annual Report:

- It was proposed that the report be taken as read.
- P Paterson spoke briefly to the report, highlighting the growth in numbers of competing rowers, the ongoing research into enhancement of the West Lakes infrastructure, the success of the Oar Cafe and thanked the volunteers for their work through the year. The Bob Pennington trophy for BROs and volunteers was put on display, having just been completed.
- He also reminded those present that there would be a Special Meeting following the AGM to sign off on some housekeeping changes to our current constitution.
- Given there were no questions from the floor, the motion to accept was put –
 Moved C Greening, Seconded T Lowe, Carried.

Adoption of 2017-2018 Financial Statements:

- The Chair noted that the results were not as strong as preferred, explaining it was
 partially due to the delay in rent from the cafe and the new boat sheds. He highlighted
 that moneys were invested in improved administration and regatta support,
 communications and social media, State Team programs and legal fees regarding the
 Constitution changes.
- As there were no questions to the Financials, the motion to adopt was put –
 Moved C McRae, Seconded T Lowe, Carried.

Election of Office Bearers:

Patron – Proposed that the Governor of SA the Honorable Hieu Van Le AC be re-elected.

• Moved B Cundell, Seconded M Mussared, Carried.

<u>Vice Patrons</u> – Proposed that the Lord Mayors of Adelaide, Martin Haese & the City of Charles Sturt, Angela Evans be re-elected.

• Moved T Milne, Seconded T Lowe, Carried.

<u>President</u> – As there were no nominations other than the incumbent, Michael Harbison, it was proposed to reappoint him.

• Moved P Mangelsdorf, Seconded L Crotti, Carried.

<u>Vice Presidents</u> – No new nominations were received, it was proposed to re-elect the incumbents.

• Moved T Lowe, Seconded B Cundell, Carried.

<u>Elected Directors</u> – In accordance with the Constitution, half of the Elected Directors have stood down – G Melbourne, A Hannon and H Wipf-Grant. They have each re-nominated and also Toni Milne has nominated.

A secret ballot to appoint 3 Elected Directors was held – A Hannon, G Melbourne and H Wipf-Grant were **Elected**.

<u>Appointment of Auditor</u> – HLB Mann Judd were the Auditors for 2017-2018. It was proposed that they be reappointed – **Moved** P Paterson, **Seconded** P Mangelsdorf, **Carried**.

Other Business: There was none.

Meeting Closed – 7.30pm.