

# 2015 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

**DATE:** Wednesday 26<sup>th</sup> August 2015

**TIME:** 6.30pm

LOCATION: Rowing SA, 100 Military Road, West Lakes Shore

Meeting declared open at 6:45pm by Philip Paterson, and he welcomed all in attendance.

#### 1. Present

Lou Crotti (Life Member / Vice President), Penny Halliday (Vice President), Paul Logan (Vice President), Greg Melbourne (Director / Foundation Member), Toni Milne, Stuart Harrison (Life Member), Judy Young, Diana Tebneff, Caroline Mussared, Tanya Hoepner, Tim Ward (Life Member), Mary Deans, Anne Pennington, Steve Pennington (Director), Phillip Mangelsdorf (Hon. Life Member), Bryan Draper (Life Member), Bryn Coudraye, Tina Lowe, Denis Abood, Kane Grant, Nathan Bowden, Thomas Fraser, Sally Martin, Bob Pennington, James Hammond, Richard Sexton, Toby Lister (Director), Sam Loch, Joshua Whitwell (Director), Michael Sweeny, Geoff Playford, Max Hoseason-Smith, Philip Paterson, Trevor Hirth, Juliette Wilkinson, Richard O'Dea, Jamie Grant, Brett Ralph, Christine MacLaren, Raj Singh

### **Apologies**

Bob Russell, (Vice President), Daren Potts, Michael Eastaughffe (Vice President), Paul Knight, Ron Mobbs, Cheryl Dalton, Phil Gebhardt, Vicky Knight, Graham Coldwell, Derek Lowe, Jason Lane

# **Declaration of Interest**

Nil

#### 2. VALE:

Colin Wakefield (Mannum RC)

Vic Gibson (Torrens RC, AUBC, SA King's Cup, Australian Men's 4+)

Charlie Winter (ARC, 81' Kings Cup)

Roger Leach (PARC, coached King's Cup crews & Commonwealth Games & Olympic rower)

John Clutterbuck (ARC, RSA Founding Member, Unley High School RC)

Anita Watts (Railways RC, contributed heavily to RSA)

John Pearce (Renmark RC)

Members stood and observed one minute's silence in recognition of these honoured Members of the rowing community and their contribution to rowing.

### 3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES - 27 August 2014

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 27 August 2014 were accepted as true and accurate.

Moved: Brian Draper

Seconded: Phil Manglesdorf Passed unanimously

#### 4. ADOPTION OF THE 2014-15 ANNUAL REPORT

Moved: Philip Paterson Seconded: Steve Pennington Passed Unanimously

Lou Crotti commended report writers and the contribution of photos by Cynthia Judd.

#### 5. ADOPTION OF 2014-15 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Trevor Hirth noted the input of Philip Paterson and Sue Hagley for their efforts in preparing RSA financials. Trevor also acknowledged the following points pertinent to the financial report.

- RSA is in fact making money and appears to be in a good financial position (\$125,000 this
  year compared with \$185,000 the previous year). \$50,000 was placed in reserve for future
  requirements.
- Liquidity shows that RSA is in a good financial position despite little external input.

## Questions from the floor

Lou Crotti points out the increased cost of staffing while simultaneously pointing out the decrease in Café takings.

 Trevor Hirth acknowledges that the Café is a challenge and that figures are distorted by sporadic large events. Trevor also asserts that in his opinion what really matters is the difference between incoming and outgoing. Philip Paterson also points out that cancelled regattas have affected the Café incomings.

Tim Ward raised concern with the apparent lack of funds being directed to the West Lakes building fund.

 Philip Paterson informed the meeting the monies are currently being re-directed in this manner.

Further to his original point, Tim Ward asked the RSA Board if it feels that the Association is currently in a position to borrow in order to upgrade facilities.

• Philip Paterson informed Tim Ward that this is a matter for the forthcoming RSA Board.

Brian Draper requests further information surrounding Café accounting procedures due to difficulty interpreting Café financials.

Philip Paterson advises that for accounting purposes the Café runs out of a separate account.
 Some funds for the Café are coming out of general expenses while income is being banked into the Café account.

Moved: Trevor Firth Seconded: Tim Ward Passed unanimously

#### 6. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS:

Patron - His Excellency the Honourable Hieu Van Le AC, Governor of South Australia

Moved: Lou Crotti

Seconded: Steve Pennington

Vice-Patrons – The Right Honourable Lord Mayor of Adelaide Martin Haese &

City of Charles Sturt Mayor Angela Evans

Moved: Brian Draper

Seconded: Steve Pennington

**President** – Michael Harbison

Moved: Steve Pennington Seconded: Lou Crotti

• Steve Pennington thanked Bob Pennington for his contribution to the role of RSA President

**Vice-Presidents** – No new nominations could be accepted from the floor, due to the requirement of at least one week's notice for any new Nominations.

Last year's Vice Presidents to remain, as follows: Lou Crotti, Michael Eastaughffe, Rod Elleway, Luigi Lippis, Robert Russell, Penny Halliday, Paul Logan, Phil Manglesdorf & Steve Pennington.

Moved: Greg Melbourne Seconded: Toby Lister

**Auditor** – Wakefield Chartered Accountants

Moved: Trevor Hirth

Seconded: Steve Pennington

#### The above election of Office Bearers were all passed unanimously

## 7. ELECTION RESULTS:

President - N/A

Secretary – Paul Knight

Three elected director positions – Jamie Grant, Richard O'Dea, Steve Pennington

#### 8. OTHER BUSINESS

Time Ward raised the concern with the election of Vice-Presidents with particular reference made to individuals no longer residing within the state.

Tina Lowe wishes to know what the role of a Vice-President entails.

 Lou Crotti informs Tina that their role is largely Honorary and that they are called upon when required.

Steve Pennington acknowledged the contribution of outgoing RSA Board members Christine MacLaren and Amber Halliday and thanked them for their hard work and dedication.