

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES 27 AUGUST 2014

100 MILITARY ROAD, WEST LAKES

Meeting declared open at 7:00pm by Christine MacLaren and welcomed all in attendance.

Christine advised that President, Chairman and Secretary are apologies and if there are no objections she will Chair the AGM – no objections.

1. PRESENT

Christine MacLaren (Director), Greg Melbourne (Director), Brett Ralph (Director), Lou Crotti (Life Member), Phil Mangelsdorf (Life Member), Brian Draper (Life Member), Trevor Hirth, Susan Hagley (CEO), Stef Wilden, James Hammond, Emily Laidin, Michael Eastaughffe, John Asendorfer, David Johnson, Paul Logan, Richard Sexton, Paul Knight, Mark Mussared, Henry Warnecke, Julie Munt, Penny Halliday, Bill Marmion, Ian McBryde, Mike Nielsen, Lauren Kolega, Josh Whitwell, Bryn Coudraye, Toni Milne, Sam Loch, Robert Barteletti, Ron Mobbs, Philip Gebhardt, Hugo Burgin, Denise Abood, Tim Ward, Toby Lister, Tina Lowe.

APOLOGIES

Bob Pennington (President), Alastair McLachlan (Chairman), Steve Pennington (Secretary), Caroline Mussared, Leigh Chapman, Jason Lane, Michael Shannon, Ben Flannagan.

2. VALE

Helen Wighton, Bob Bradley, Brenton Bartlet, David Showell, Jan Logan, Guy Hebblewhite.

Members stood and observed one minutes silence in recognition of these honoured members of the rowing community and their contribution to rowing.

3. MINUTES OF AGM 28 AUGUST 2013

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 28 August 2013 were accepted as true and accurate.

Moved: Lou Crotti

Seconded: Penny Halliday

There were no matters arising.

4. ADOPTION OF THE 2013-2014 ANNUAL REPORT

Moved: Josh Whitwell Seconded: Hugo Burgin

5. ADOPTION OF THE 2013-14 FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

Trevor Hirth spoke to the audited Financial Report. Trevor thanked Susan Hagley, Alastair McLachlan and Beverly Portlock for their attention to the finances of Rowing SA and their ongoing work.

Lou Crotti spoke to the financial reports highlighting in particular:

- the increase in expenditure and income for the café
- the importance of café management

Trevor explained the impact on the café of the Australian Masters Championships and that RSA incurred some losses.

Hugo Burgin questioned State Team investment and how that was recorded.

Philip Mangelsdorf questioned the Rowing Australia (RA) hosting fee of \$30k. Tim Ward requested it be noted that he is unhappy with RA charging RSA such a large fee and that we should not agree in future to such a fee, Tina Lowe seconded. Michael Eastaughffe provided information to the meeting justifying the fee.

Penny Halliday advised she had personally spoken with RA regarding the hosting fee and the strain holding a national event puts on RSAs volunteer pool. Her advice was that RA should pay for a local event manager for national events.

Moved: Michael Eastaughffe Seconded: Greg Melbourne

6. RECOMMENDATION OF LIFE MEMBERSHIP NOMINATION

A nomination for Life Membership of Rowing SA for Bob Pennington had been received from Alex Silz of Adelaide Rowing Club. This nomination had the support of the RSA Board.

Philip Mangelsdorf spoke to the nomination and to Bobs significant contribution to rowing and in particular his support and continuous work volunteering to RSA.

Tim Ward also supported the nomination, highlighting his tireless contribution as an umpire.

Michael Eastaughffe also supported the nomination, highlighting his positive mentoring to Rowing SA and RA umpires.

Philip Mangelsdorf presented Bob Pennington with the Life Membership Plaque.

Bob Pennington expressed his appreciation of the nomination and spoke of his rowing career beginning as a school student to his recent days working in the Control at weekly regattas.

Moved: Philip Mangelsdorf Seconded: Michael Eastaughffe

7. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Patron - His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce AO, CSR, RANR, Governor of South Australia

Moved: Toni Milne

Seconded: Penny Halliday

Vice Patrons - Mayor of The City Of Charles Sturt, Kirsten Alexander;
Lord Mayor of The City Of Adelaide, The Right Honourable Stephen Yarwood

Moved: Penny Halliday Seconded: Rob Barteletti

President

Chair advised the group that there being no other nominations received the existing President Mr Bob Pennington was re-elected under Rule 6.a) ii.

Carried unanimously.

Vice-Presidents

The following members were re-elected as Vice-Presidents for 2014-15. Lou Crotti, Bob Russell, Michael Eastaughffe, Rod Elleway, Steve Pennington, Phil Mangelsdorf, Penny Halliday, Paul Logan.

Moved: Tina Lowe

Seconded: Philip Gebhardt

Auditor

Wakefield Chartered Accountants nominated.

Moved: Michael Eastaughffe

Seconded: Tim Ward

8. ANNOUNCEMENT OF INCOMING CHAIR AND BOARD MEMBERS

Chair thanked outgoing Directors Sarah Keaney, Brett Ralph and Greg Melbourne for their contribution to Rowing SA.

Chair announced and congratulated incoming members for the 2014-16 term:

Chair: Alastair McLachlan

Directors: Josh Whitwell, Greg Melbourne and Toby Lister.

9. AOB

Bill Marmion requested that the Annual Report be circulated prior to the AGM.

Penny Halliday highlighted that in her position on the SA Olympic Council has raised \$195k to contribute towards SA athletes competing in the Olympics.

Meeting declared closed at 8:07pm