ROWING SOUTH AUSTRALIA

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES 28 AUGUST 2013

VENUE: BOATSHED FUNCTION ROOM, WEST LAKES AQUATIC CENTRE

Meeting declared open by the President at 6:40pm and welcomed all in attendance.

1. PRESENT

Robert Pennington (President), Alastair McLachlan (Chairman), Michael Eastaughffe (Secretary), Greg Melbourne, John Bentley, Mike Nielsen, Steve Pennington, Barny Cundell, Alister Walsh, Ronald Mobbs, Christine McLaren, Andrew Stunell, Vicky Spencer, Andrew Randall, Tim Ward, Stef Wilden, Toni Milne, Penny Halliday, Lou Crotti, Emily Laidin, Loki Rickus, Tara Andrews, Brett Ralph, Paul Cudmore, Rob Barteletti, Damien Derlique, Bill Othams, Joshua Whitwell, Trevor Hirth

2. APOLOGIES

Paul Logan, Jan Logan, Phil Mangelsdorf, Tina Lowe, Jerry Elder, Daniel Ralph, Leigh Chapman

3. VALE

Elaine Gutterus, Athol McDonald, William Dankbaar, Brother James Murray, Brenton Bartel, Jack Pritchard (Rowing Queensland)

Members stood and observed one minute's silence in recognition of these people and their contribution to our sport and community.

4. MINUTES OF AGM – 29 AUGUST 2012

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 29 August 2012 were accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Penny Halliday Seconded: Alastair McLachlan Passed

There were no matters arising.

5. ADOPTION OF 2012-2013 ANNUAL REPORT

Moved: Greg Melbourne Seconded: Brett Ralph

Secretary spoke to the Annual Report highlighting certain aspects contained in it, in particular the departure of Deb White as CEO who worked tirelessly for Rowing SA and also for the

magnificent contribution made by Christina Firth as Regatta Operations and Finance Manager. It was proving very difficult to find full time replacements for these people. Also, Peter Erskine had resigned as a Board member in January and his contribution to the sport needed to be recognised.

He also expressed his appreciation to Daniel Ralph for the work, time and effort he put in to coordinate and prepare a very good Report.

There was no further discussion.

Report was adopted by the Meeting.

6. ADOPTION OF THE 2012-2013 FINANCIAL REPORT

Trevor Hirth spoke to the audited Financial Report.

He thanked Alastair McLachlan and Michael Eastaughffe and the staff for their attention to the finances of Rowing SA and the completeness of their ongoing work.

He advised that the financial position of Rowing SA was sound but however needed to remain cognisant of factors that could have an unfavourable impact to the ongoing management of rowing operations.

Lou Crotti spoke to the financial reports highlighting in particular: -

- Ageing of the existing clubrooms and the need to plan for future upgrades.
- Consideration of a Capital Replacement Fund for major maintenance and improvements to the premises.

Alastair McLachlan spoke to planned maintenance issues including the establishment of a new boat storage area. Also, a number of existing club leases at West lakes were due for renewal during 2015.

Moved: Trevor Hirth Seconded: Lou Crotti Report Adopted

7. NOMINATION FOR LIFE MEMBERSHIP

A nomination for Life Membership of Rowing SA for Michael Eastaughffe had been received from Leigh Chapman of Torrens Rowing Club. This nomination had the support of the Executive Board.

Alistair McLachlan spoke to the nomination and spoke to Michael's contribution to the sport and in particular his support and continuous work in a number of ways in support of Rowing SA. Bob Pennington also supported the nomination and presented him with Life Membership plaque.

It was also noted that Michael was retiring from the Executive Board following in excess of 25 years service.

Michael Eastaughffe expressed his appreciation of Life Membership and for the support he had received from many people over many years.

Moved: Alastair Mclachlan Seconded: Penny Halliday

8. ELECTIONS (2013-14)

Election of Patron:

Patron: His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce AO, CSR, RANR, Governor of South Australia

Carried Unanimously.

Election of Vice-Patrons:

Vice-Patrons: Mayor of The City Of Charles Sturt, Kirsten Alexander;

Lord Mayor of The City Of Adelaide, The Right Honourable Stephen Yarwood

Carried Unanimously.

Election of President:

The Secretary took the Chair and advised the Meeting that there being no other nominations received the existing President Mr Bob Pennington was re-elected under Rule 6.a) ii.

Election of Vice-Presidents:

The following members were re-elected as Vice-Presidents for 2013-14.

Lou Crotti Bob Russell Michael Eastaughffe Rod Elleway Steve Pennington Phil Mangelsdorf Penny Halliday Paul Logan

Carried Unanimously.

9. Appointment of Auditors:

Wakefield Chartered Accountants nominated.

If the existing Auditor nominated above is not available the executive Board be given the authority to appoint another qualified auditor.

Moved: Lou Crotti Seconded: Steve Pennington Passed.

- **10.** With the permission of the President, Penny Halliday, recently elected President of the South Australian Olympic Committee, advised the meeting of coming activities of the Committee.
- **11.** For the information of members and further to the final approval by the Rowing SA General Committee to follow the conclusion of this meeting the outcome of the elections for Secretary and Executive Board Members were announced: =

Secretary: Steve Pennington

Executive Board Members: Andrew Stunnel, Andrew Randall, Christine McLaren

Meeting declared closed at 7:25pm