

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MINUTES

DATE: Wednesday 29 August 2012

VENUE: Boatshed Function Room

1. Present:

Jarrrad Schar, Trevor Hirth, Daniel Ralph, Lou Crotti, Peter Erskine, Mussared, Mark Mussared, Steve Perry, Greg Melbourne, Penny Haliday, Michael Eastaughffe, Jessica McRae, Matt Bolt, Alastair McLachlan, Stef Wilden, Emily Laiden, Jerry Elder, Tina Low, Bill Othams, Catherine McDougal, Zandra Smith, Steve Pennington, Callista Glowacz, Anita Hughes, Vicky Spencer, Deb White, Chris Firth.

2. Apologies:

Paul Logan, Jan Logan, Mayor of Charles Sturt Kirsten Alexander, Andrew R, Lord Mayor Stephen Yarwood, Phil Mangelsdorf, Mannum Rowing Club, Lee Dalton, Leigh Chapman, Andrew Stunnel, Barny Cundell, Andrew Randell

President opened the meeting at 6.30pm and welcomed attendees to meeting.

3. VALE:

John Curtis, Moira Keogh, Robert Jarvis.

Members stood and observed one minute's silence in recognition of these people and their contribution to the sport.

4. ADOPTION OF MINUTES - 24 August 2011

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 24 August 2011 were accepted as a true and accurate record.

MOVED: Lou Crotti SECONDED: Penny Haliday CARRIED

5. MATTERS ARISING

None noted

6. NOMINATION FOR LIFE MEMBERSHIP

A nomination submitted by Rod Elleway of Life Membership of Rowing SA for Tim Ward. Bob Pennington (President) AND Michael Eastaughffe (Secretary) spoke of Tim's achievements and contribution to Rowing and presented him with Life Membership of Rowing SA.

MOVED: Michael Eastaughffe SECONDED: Penny Halliday CARRIED



7. ADOPTION OF 2011-2012 ANNUAL REPORT

- The Rowing SA Annual Report was tabled.
 - D White spoke to the report and highlighted a major inniative for Rowing SA in 2011-2102 is the establishment of Indoor Rowing Facility.
 - o 2011 2012 has been a positive and busy year.
- Damien Derlique will be managing the Indoor Rowing Centre and will be responsible for regatta operations administration. Chris firth will continue as Finance Manager.
- Boat Storage shed construction is pending Council approval of change of purpose for leased area.
- Strategic Plan was reviewed this year. The Strategic Plan will take Rowing SA through to 2016.
- A permanent step on the Northern beach area will be constructed to assist with boat launching in this area of the lake.
- ROMS review has also been conducted by Rowing Australia. New program 'Regatta Central'
 will be trialed at World Rowing/ Australian Championships is 2013. Rowing SA will remain
 with ROMs for the next two seasons.
- D White also thanked the staff and volunteers of Rowing SA.
 - D White thanked Sponsors, Charles Sturt Council and the South Australian Government for their continued assistance and support.
 - o D White thanked Lou Crotti and Trevor Hirth for advice and guidance.

There being no queries, the Rowing SA Annual Report 2011- 2102 was

MOVED: Alastair McLachlan SECONDED: Peter Erskine CARRIED

8. ADOPTION OF THE 2011-12 FINANCIAL REPORT -

Moved: Michael Eastaughffe Seconded: Peter Erskine Carried

Trevor Hirth presented the 2011/2012 Financial Statements for consideration.

T Hirth thanked people responsible for establishing 2011-2012 budget.

He referred to the net surplus of \$85,000 and highlighted several cost factors, including the Rowing SA Facility, Café and Regatta Operations.

Lou Crotti expressed his thanks and appreciation to Bob Pennington on his retirement as Chairman of Rowing SA Board.

L Crotti expressed his approval that there is now advertising for boatshed and Cafe.

L Crotti queried why Boat Shed Café expenditure has almost doubled in last 12 months and what was the largest area of expenditure for the boat shed café. T Hirth stated that the previous year's figures were for 5 months. This year's figures are for 12 months

9. ELECTIONS

Election of Patron and Vice Patrons:

Patron: His Excellency Rear Admiral Kevin Scarce AO, CSR, RANR, Governor of South Australia

Carried Unanimously

Vice Patrons: Mayor of City of Charles Sturt - Kirsten Alexander Lord Mayor of the City of Adelaide - The Right Honorable Stephen Yarwood

Carried Unanimously



President: There being no other nominations received the existing President Mr. Bob Pennington was re-elected under Rule 6) a) ii)

Vice Presidents: The following members were re- elected as Vice-Presidents for 2012-2013.

Lou Crotti
Bob Russell
Michael Eastaughffe
Rod Elleway
Lou Lippis
Steve Pennington
Phil Mangelsdorf
Penny Halliday
Paul Logan

Carried Unanimously

10. Auditors:

Wakefield Chartered Accountants
As there were no other recommendations the above were duly elected.
MOVED: P Erskine SECONDED: S Pennington CARRIED

11.. ANNOUNCEMENT OF ELECTED BOARD MEMBERS

For the information of members and would be subject to approval of the Rowing SA General Committee Meeting to follow at the conclusion of this meeting the outcome of the elections for the Chairman and Executive Board Members was announced: -

Executive Board Members

There were 3 full term positions and 1 half term position available –Three nominees to be elected for 2 year term and one for a one year term.

Votes have been counted with impartial scrutineers in attendance.

Peter Erskine, Brett Ralph and Greg Melbourne were elected for 2 years and Andrew Stunnel for one year.

Chairman

Bob Pennington has not sought re-election as Chairperson of Rowing SA Board.

There being no other nominations received, Alastair McLachlan was elected Chairperson of the Rowing SA Board.

M Eastaughffe commended the retiring Chairperson, Mr Bob Pennington for his untiring contribution to Rowing SA and presented him with a plaque to commemorate his tenure as Chairperson. M Eastaughffe congratulated him on his term and dedication to Rowing SA

MEETING CLOSED. 7.30pm.