Governance and Structure


Rowing SA follows the governance platform provided by Rowing Australia through the Rowing in Australia Framework and Whole of Sport Policies. As a Member Association, it is our responsibility to be compliant with the Governance Principles and continue to provide the underpinning framework from which rowing in Australian can grow and achieve sustainable success.

Rowing SA adopts the relevant required governance to comply with both the Australian Sports Commission’s requirements and good governance principles.

The RSA Board is responsible for setting the strategic direction of Rowing SA and has oversight of its activities. Each member of the Board is elected to serve terms up to 2-years. 3 Elected Directors are subject to re-election annually. Once nominations are received, board members are elected by the Rowing SA membership by way of secret ballot conducted at the AGM each year.

The Staff of Rowing SA, led by the CEO, are responsible for the day-to-day management and operation of Rowing SA in achieving the strategic direction set by the Board. A copy of the current Rowing SA Constitution is available here, with the Rowing Australia Constitution available here.


Rowing Australia (RA) is governed by a Board, which is elected by the 7 State Associations that make up the Australian rowing community. The RA Board answers to the RA Council, a body comprising of Councillors from each State/Territory association. Rowing SA, together with Rowing WA, Rowing Queensland, Rowing Tasmania and Rowing ACT each have one delegate, whilst Rowing Victoria and NSW Rowing Association are both allocated 2 delegates due to their larger number of active participants.


Members make up the lifeblood of the community, and Rowing SA recognise Honorary and Financial Life members and Foundation Life Members.

Other official positions held include Rowing SA Patrons and Presidential Positions.