SA Masters rowers win second Interstate rowing title in a row

South Australia won the Men’s Australian Masters Interstate Rowing title for the second year in a row at Ballarat Saturday by just 0.53 of a second ahead of the very fast finishing Tasmanian crew with Queensland third.


The SA crew led away from the start and held a handy lead at the half way mark but were visibly tiring from maintaining their high stroke rating as the brave Tasmanian crew mounted a fast sprint to the finish line only to fall so agonisingly close at the end.


This is only the second time SA have won this Interstate title and there was only one crew change from the eight from last year and SA had the same coxswain, Bonnie White and coaches John Bentley and Rob Cheesman, these three mentors all from the Adelaide University Boat club.


SA won a silver medal in the 2022 Women’s Interstate Masters Eight for their best result ever in that title race.


The women’s eights race was just as exciting as the men’s as it was the SA crew who came home fastest to overlap the stern of the Queensland boat to lose by less than a length to the experienced Queenslanders who have now won this masters Interstate title for the sixth year in a row.


SA finished sixth in the women’s Interstate quad scull won by Victoria ahead of NSW with Tasmania third in the six state field.


SA did not have a crew in the Men’s Interstate quad scull, also won by Victoria by just 0.72 of a second from NSW with the ACT third.


There are two Para single scull races that make up the 6 event Interstate Masters annual regatta and SA had no entries in these two boat classes, the mens Para single won by Kevin Wall from NSW and the women Para single by Sue Donoghoe from the ACT.


Phil Mangelsdorf.