SA clubs win gold at 2022 Australian Masters Rowing Championships

SA has only a small contingent competing in Ballarat at the four days Australian Masters Rowing Championships but nearly every SA club had already won gold before the second day’s racing has finished.


The Torrens RC Women’s masters have led the way winning the open clubs Women’s eights against all age groups in a hotly contested field, the first time a SA club has won this National title.


Most of these Torrens women are in the SA State Masters eight crew to contest the annual Interstate race Saturday so they may well be poised to score the best ever result for SA in this event.


The majority of the SA Men’s Interstate Masters eight, which won the Men’s Interstate title last year for the first time, have also shown fine form winning gold Friday in the over 55 years eights, so should also feature in the medals Saturday in their Intestate representative title clash.


Former Commonwealth Games Australian rower Alison Smith led the way for Port Adelaide winning her single scull National title in her age group and then teamed with club mates Colette Barry, Damien Derlique and Dave McLeod to win gold in the over 50 years mixed quad scull boat class.


Graham Hunt from Murray Bridge won gold in the lightweight single scull for his age group just half an hour after a convincing win to collect gold with Mark Johnston from Riverside RC and Kevin Tankard and Rob Ellis, both from Torrens RC in their over 60 years quad scull title race.


Nick McDonald and Lisanne Edgar from Phoenix RC won gold in their mixed over 50 years double scull in one of the closer finishes of the day just ahead of a Black Mountain/ANU composite crew.


Its the Torrens Women’s squad who are setting a great standard as they have won four other gold medals in different boat classes to have their club as the leading medal winner from SA at the end of the second day of racing.


SA can look forward to a good showing in the Annual Australian Masters Interstate races which headline the Saturday race programme as the feature events at the end of day three tomorrow.


Phil Mangelsdorf