Under 21 Trans-Tasman clash set to begin

Australia will begin its title defence of the Rusty Robertson Trophy on Thursday when it takes on New Zealand in the first leg of the U21 Trans-Tasman Regatta. Australia is hosting the Kiwi Under 21 team at the Sydney International Regatta Centre from 28 to 30 June while Australia will travel to Lake Karapiro, in New Zealand, for the second leg which will be held from 23 to 25 August,

The yearly event sees Australia and New Zealand’s U21 teams battle it out for the prestigious Rusty Robertson Trophy. Robertson, a New Zealander, coached both New Zealand (from 1967-76) and Australia (1979-84) in a prolific career. Robertson’s career saw him achieve many notable results with his crews, including overseeing two New Zealand crews to Olympic gold medals (1968 Men’s Four and 1972 Men’s Eight) as well as Australian crews to multiple World Championships as well as Australia’s Men’s Quadruple Scull to an Olympic silver medal at the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.

This week’s racing can be tracked live by clicking here. Results and race schedules will be posted on the RA website under ‘Latest News’ and will also include an update at the end of each day on the points table. Listed below is a breakdown of points, a link to the race schedule and a list of the two teams competing at the event. Sweep and sculling groups will once again combine to form Eights for racing later in the week.

Head Coach of the U21 Australian Rowing Team, Jason Lane, said: “The U21 team have been lucky enough to have the week preparing for this event at the Hancock Prospecting Women’s National Training Centre in Penrith. The group, who have been training with the Junior and Under 23 Australian Rowing Teams, have had access to the Nepean River, which has meant they have access to some fantastic on and off-water facilities throughout the lead up.

“The team was lucky enough to hear to be presented with their uniforms by Olympic gold medallist, Kim Brennan, and I am sure Kim’s words of encouragement have inspired the whole team.

“The three days of racing always prove to be highly competitive and we’re looking forward to see what racing against New Zealand has to offer. I’m pleased to welcome back Brigette Carlile and David Gely as coaches on the U21s and am excited to work with them and also our two new coaches this year, Debbie Fox and Alex Field. I am certain that with both them and the athletes we will have a fantastic event against New Zealand.”

 Points for racing will be awarded in the finals as follows:

  1. 1st – 6 points, 2nd – 4 points, 3rd – 2 points and 4th – 1 point for –W1x, M1x, W2- and M2-.
  2. 1st – 6 points and 2nd – 4 points for LW2x, LM2x, W4-, M4-, W4x, M4x, W8+ and M8+.
  3. 1st – 2 points and 2nd – 1 point for LW1x, LM1x and MixL2x.Medals will be awarded to the first-placed boat in each category.

Click here to view the race schedule for the Australia-leg of the 2018 Trans-Tasman Regatta.

U21 Australian Rowing Team

Athlete NameClub/State/SIS-SAS
Men’s Sweep 
Nick LaveryUTS Rowing Club/NSW
Paddy HoltUTS Rowing Club/QLD
Alex NicholSydney Rowing Club/NSW
Jackson KenchSydney Rowing Club/NSW/NSWIS
Men’s Sculling 
Alex GrezeskowiakCapital Lakes Rowing Club/ACT
Matthew MurraySydney University Boat Club/NSW
Lightweight Men’s Sculling 
Rohan JamesSwan River Rowing Club/WA
Nathan KennedyAustralian National University BC/ACT
Connor RyanNorth Esk Rowing Club/TAS
U21 Women’s Sweep 
Skyla FroebelMercantile Rowing Club/VIC/VIS
Kirstie GreenMercantile Rowing Club/VIC
Alexandra FinlayGriffith University Surfers Paradise RC/QLD
Ella BramwellAdelaide Rowing Club/SA
Women’s Sculling  
Olivia BartramUTS Rowing Club/NSW
Charlotte WirtzMelbourne University Boat Club/VIC
Lightweight Women’s Sculling  
Celia CowanAdelaide University BC/SA
Michaela FranzSydney University BC/NSW
Portia BennettUniversity of Queensland BC/QLD/QAS
Andrew LeWest Australian Rowing Club/WA
Phoebe GeorgakasMelbourne University Boat Club/VIC
Head Coach: Jason LaneSASI
Debbie FoxSydney University BC/NSW
Brigette CarlileMercantile Rowing Club/VIC
David GelyUTS Rowing Club/NSW
Alex FieldUTS Rowing Club/NSW


New Zealand U21 Team

Men’s SweepTravelling Reserves
Joseph GrahamKaylin Wren
Cameron DonaldJack Castle
Blake Bradshaw 
Angus ShotterCoxswains
 Kaitlyn Shields (Women’s Eight)
Men’s ScullingJonty du Toit (Men’s Eight)
TK McLaren-Taplin 
Nathan LuffCoaches
 Aimee Pink – Women’s Sculling
Men’s Lightweight ScullingJack Allen – Men’s Sculling
Jordon GassonJosh Wedlake – Men’s Sweep
James BrottHannah Starnes – Women’s Sweep
Women’s Sweep 
Jessica Turfrey 
Grace Holland 
Danika Caton 
Claudia Mecchia 
Women’s Sculling 
Anna MacQuarrie 
Lily Butler 
Women’s Lightweight Sculling 
Shannon Cox 
Justine Hobbs